Ari   Allison  Papa        Dad     Varun and Moms


Tina

Currently: I started law school at American University in Washington DC in Fall 2008. Previously, I worked as an environmental paralegal in the Washington, DC office of Latham & Watkins, a law firm with 20+ offices around the globe. I graduated from The George Washington University in 2005 with a B.A. in Political Science and Criminal Justice.

Family: I grew up in NYC with my brother, Raj, and my sister, Meena. They are both married (to Sharon and Indrajit De, respectively) and my Bhabhi gave me the two most wonderful nieces in the world, Arianna and Allison. My father, Ramesh Goel, has been working with John Hancock Life Insurance Company for over 30 years and my mother, after rasing her kids as a homemaker for 28 years, ventured out on her own in 1999 and still and works as a tax professional at H&R Block.

Childhood & Interests: I've only ever lived in big cites (NY & DC) and hadn't thought about power outages until the big one in NYC. My parents still live in the same house that I grew up in, so I often take Varun "home" and drag him around the house telling him weird little anecdotes about myself. My dad loves photo and video (I'm sure you know) and I've adopted his love of taking photographs. My mom made sure that we ate a wide variety of foods so I go looney if I eat dal-chawal two days in a row; so I'm trying to keep up with the variety I grew up with and like to cook North & South India, Mexican, ITALIAN!!!, and stir-fry veggies. Sharon does a lot of the funky tofu-related cooking, so I'm trying to get into that so that as vegetarians with an inability to eat dal everyday we can still make sure to get enough protein.

Varun

Currently: I am an Information Technology Consultant working at a big consulting firm, Deloitte & Touche LLP. My life in America started about 8 years ago (2002) as a graduate student at The Pennsylvania State University where I graduated with a Masters degree in Mechanical Engineering. I got my Bachelors degree from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) at Kharagpur in West Bengal, India.

Family: My mother and father live in Baroda, Gujarat (India) where my dad is a professor of Particle Physics. My mom is a homemaker. My sister, Pragya lives in San Jose, CA with her husband, Amit Gautam, and is a graduate student at the San Jose State University. My eldest sister Divya lives in Portland, OR and completed her Ph.D. in Physics from the Johns Hopkins University and is currently working at Intel (here is a picture of her as she was about to pass the finish line of the 26.2 mile Marine Corps Marathon in Washington, DC). She is married to Bala Krishnamoorthy, an assistant professor of Mathematics at Washington State University in Pullman, Washington.

Childhood & Interests: Coming soon....

Divya

Bala

Meena and Indra

Raj and Sharon

Tina and Pragya

©2009 Designed by Varun and Tina